Dead American - The Shape of Punk is Dumb lp (Pre Order) CTR-26

Dead American was born out of timing, patience, and waiting for the right moment. In the wake of his departure from Saosin, Cove Reber ventured into a slower paced lifestyle in order to both deconstruct and rebuild into a new normal. Though the desire to write and create never dissipated, the opportune sign needed to present itself in order to regain the needed passion to recommit to the process.

In 2016, Cove was introduced to Chad Jordan through a mutual friend. At the time, Chad had touring experience with numerous bands, but was looking to complete some instrumental compositions he had written throughout his musical career that were lacking vocals. Chad began sending these self-recorded demos to Cove through email, resulting in Cove demoing vocals to them in the following months.

Songs from “The Shape Of Punk Is Dumb” began to take form in the coming year, with the duo heading into Rigby Road Studios in Salt Lake City with producer and engineer, Joel Pack, in the winter of 2017. Amongst busy schedules and slowly chipping away at the songs over time, the record was completed and mastered in the middle of 2018. Within many conversations of dreaming up the concept of the band, the duo decided to quit their jobs, leave the state of Utah, and relocate to southern California where they both individually grew up to commit their efforts of pursuing Dead American.

During this transition, the need for a guitarist, bassist, and drummer was apparent, so the pair began enlisting the talents of close friends. Josh Latham was a long-time high school friend of Chad’s who had experience operating a home studio and playing bass, so the decision was made to quit his job and move from his residence in Seattle to pursue this new musical endeavor. Soon after, Jamey Price was enlisted as the groups guitarist/vocalist, having prior touring and song writing experience with Chad in their band Sleep For Sleepers. The lineup was completed a few months later with the addition of Kyle Rosa on drums - Kyle had extensive touring experience and was looking to commit his efforts into a new project, becoming the perfect fit for what the band was searching for

Limited Edition(50) - 4 vinyl box set is packaged in a custom lazer engraved, hand made wooden case. The dimensions are 12.5x12.5x1. Inside you will find 4 colors of vinyl all holding “The Shape Of Punk Is Dumb” EP, Plus bonus track; “False Intentions” physically available exclusively on limited pressed vinyl.

Limited Edition(50) - BW Album Tee Shirt.

Shirt Size(xs-xxxl):

Release date is: 4.20.19

Track Listing

  1. Ants and Pawns
  2. Grown So Cold
  3. Out For Blood
  4. Alternative Facts
  5. Gravity
  6. False Intentions

Pressing Information

20 Test Pressings
50 Swirl (Blue, Orange, Purple)
100 Blue (Cointoss Exclusive)
100 Orange (
100 Purple (Dead American tour exclusive)